15 Agenda7 Podcast – Strategies and TILT

Episode 15 of Agenda7 is now online – an hour and a half long!

Glen, Dave and Plaid Hat Will Hatton take the opportunity to discuss the deck strategies they used and encountered at a recent tournament at Waterloo University. (An excellent ANR Bad Publicity tourney.) Then we discuss the listener inspired topics of TILT – How probability will mess you over and what should you do about it.

ep15Podcast 15 includes:
1 – Waterloo tournament observations
2 – Deck strategies and tactics
3 – TILT – mitigating bad probability
4– Acknowledgements & contact

Episode 15 was recorded on October 16th, 2013 and is available on Libsyn.com.

Agenda7′s Netrunner Podcast is available on iTunes – if you have the time, please leave an iTunes review if that’s how you subscribe. You can leave a comment here, or on our facebook page.
– Dave

Direct download link: 15 Agenda7 Netrunner Podcast

15 thoughts on “15 Agenda7 Podcast – Strategies and TILT

  1. I think a great corp strategy right now is to play very quick rush decks with either flatline or fast advance as their secondary/close out win condition. What you do is set up a remote with a hard etr ice as early as possible and start pumping agendas. Until the runner finds a way to get in.
    This requires a lot of card draw so Jackson Howard is pretty neat, but Anonymous Tip is also a great card for this strategy. Now, if you draw a lot of cards, you don’t want to run any click intensive economy. One way are drip assets like PAD and Adonis, but I think the superior way is burst economy. So you are drawing a lot of cards, drawing into your agendas, into your economy, into the pieces of ice you currently need in the given situation and you have a foundation for a great corp deck.
    You get to matchpoint really quickly with those kind of decks and once the runner can get into your remote, you either fast advance to close out the game or you are forcing the runner to make mistakes and getting killed by Scorched Earth.
    If playing a lot of NBN TWIY and core Weyland with this strategy and the both do amazing and are actually able to outpace the runner. The economy of both decks consists of 3x Hedge Fund, 3x Beanstalk and 3x Green Level Clearance. That’s all you need. They are great at recovering from Siphons, they can’t trash your economy unless they have Imp or Demolition Run and you are pretty much never taking any money actions, so Gorman Drip suddenly becomes a dead card.
    The Weyland deck actually has a very interesting quirk to it: There is not one card in the deck that can be trashed. No assets and no upgrades. The exception are 3x Snare!, but you know what happens when the runner accesses them. So suddenly they can’t dig deep through your R&D which let’s you focus more on your remote server and since you are drawing a lot between GLC, Anonymous Tip and usual draw actions, they can’t lock your R&D without support. I’ve won several games with this deck without even putting one piece of ice in front R&D. And the deck is rich as hell.
    The TWIY performs a little better though, because it’s pretty reliable at scoring an early Astroscript. You keep the counter(s) until your remote isn’t save anymore, make R&D slightly taxing (read as: annoying to run) and protect HQ heavily, draw a shit ton of cards, get rich in the process and use the counters to score the last agendas you need. And you can always spam SanSan, because they HAVE to trash it, especially when you have matchpoint.

    Again, awesome podcast. It was great to hear from you guys again.

    tl;dr: NBN and Weyland rush are amazing. You should try it out if you like winning.

    Also, my favourite combo right now is probably Test Run + Scavenge into a Femme Fatale.

    • I have played a version of Weyland Pay to Win – which I think is what you’re describing here – to get all that excellent economy and advance even the big 5 for 3 agendas. I really like the idea of fast advance now including multiple card draw, something that wasn’t that easy before. Between the typical fast advance cards, and actually drawing more cards than usual, your simultaneous econ/agenda strategy should work well.

      As for NBN – you’ve pushed me over the top to give it a try. I play NBN so rarely, but you’ve convinced me that this should be my next try. Love that combo too – if you can get all those cards in one place at the right time!

      Thanks for writing Paradox – I keep up on your comments on the many forums you write in. – Dave

      • The Weyland deck hasn’t any fast advance at all though. As mentioned, I don’t want any cards in there that can be trashed, so SanSan is out of the question. I’m not a fan of ToL because I think it makes you do things you shouldn’t do with this deck and Biotic Labor is just too much influence to find room for it.
        It’s pretty important to this deck to score an Atlas with one or two counters on it, you you can fetch your SE/SEA Sources or tutor whatever agenda you might need, either a 3 pointer if you are absolutely sure your remote is secure or Hosile Takeover to seal the deal out of hand.

        I’m also looking forward to Restructuring. It’ll be an easy fit in the Weyland deck and I am intrigued to find out if it works in NBN as well. I find myself getting over 10 fairly often without even building around it so I am fairly optimistic. It might allow you to play a little more big ice in the future.

  2. Thank for another great podcast, and for the kind words!

    Dave, I’m curious what you used Motivation for in your tournament deck. I don’t really see too much value in having this effect in and of itself, especially since Runners, and Shapers in particular, have so many great ways of drawing through their Stack. I do have an Exile deck where it could come in handy, since I want to install in the middle of the run and using a Clone Chip to install a Self-Modifying Code from my Heap will draw me a program that can no longer be installed by Self-Modifying Code, but it’s a relatively remote use case.

    Now, I’m thinking it’s possible that there will be more cards to make Motivation more desirable moving forward. The Shaper double event from Second Thoughts (believed to be called Eureka!) is a good example, allowing you to install the top card of your Stack for a discount of 10. With Motivation, you know if it’s an event and will just be trashed, or if it’s something too cheap to be worth it. It’s quite possible that we will get more effects down the road that do something to the top card of the Stack, in which case that information will mean more.

    As far as strategies go, on the Corporation side, I’ve found that some of my better decks really get a leg up because they can setup lose-lose situations. For example, I’ve been playing around with an NBN deck lately that uses Psychographics and Trick of Light to fast advance. I will sometimes play a Breaking News out with little or no protection, and advance it twice. Now, if the Runner runs it and steals it, I can hit them with Midseason Replacements to enable my fast advance, typically aiming to score something on that next turn. If the Runner chooses not to run it, I score it at the beginning of my turn, install a three cost agenda, play Psychographics, and advance it once to score it. If the Runner chose not to run it and I don’t have Psychographics, I can use Trick of Light in place of Psychographics in the above example, leaving Breaking News on the table. If they run it next turn, thinking it’s a trap that is now powerless, then I can once again follow up with Midseason Replacements. Multiple paths to victory, and it works in my favour regardless of what the Runner chooses to do. Further, I pack two copies of Ghost Branch that I can feign as Breaking News when I prefer the Trick of Light method for when the Runner doesn’t run, but I want them to waste time and money getting rid of tags if they do. These feints can be tough to pull off, but when you hit someone with a Swarm that has been advanced eight times and trash their whole program suite because they thought for sure it was an Ice Wall (because Swarm is often perceived to not be a great card and people therefore don’t expect opponents to be playing it), it’s definitely worth it. Designing feints and lose-lose situations into your deck is important as a Corporation, in my mind. You really want to be thinking about how your card choices will be perceived by your opponents, and how you can leverage situations to always work out in your favour. You might find yourself including cards you’d previously overlooked as a result.

    My favourite combo is the same as paradoX: Test Run + Scavenge for Femme Fatale (and Morningstar). Femme Fatale is one of those fun icebreakers that just has so much utility. I love being able to Test Run Femme Fatale to get into a remote server on a critical turn, then Scavenge her to target a big piece of ICE on R&D, keeping her installed for three credits in the process.

    • Thanks again for writing Skies, and you are welcome!

      You’ve given me something very interesting to think about – in the same way that I deckbuild for pushing through agendas (and defending them), I could deckbuild based purely on “perceived” agendas and play the game that way. We’ve all built “:trap” decks with various levels of success, but the ToL/Breaking News combo you’ve mentioned is a pretty cool lose/lose for the runner. And not a deck he’s going to figure out until the game is pretty much over.

      I liked Motivation, but never enough to include more than 1 in my deck – and then often just to spite Glen and Will. But we all knew what was coming – something that would work with it. And FFG’s like that – they’re not going to sell you a toolbox full of tools all at once. They’re going to sell you a bolt one month, then the wrench that goes with it next month. Eureka! Awesome. Keep playing man. – Dave

  3. Dave made a comment about the lack of memory he was seeing in runner decklists. I ran the typical Atman Kate deck at my Plugged-In tourney. It went 4-1 and had 6 points in the one loss. A while ago I found I didn’t need extra memory because it’s pretty common for me to pop Atmans (and Datasuckers and Femme) in and out of archives to adjust to changing ice conditions. Very different from a traditional breaker suite.

    • You know what? I rarely run out of memory too – but I always expect that I’ll need to install what I planned to install, in order to make the deck work. More often than not however, the game is over before that can happen. Can’t count how many games I finished with just Crypsis and 1 other breaker out.

  4. Thanks for the mention, guys!

    By the way, I did not have any Gila hands in my deck.

    Also, I retired my tournament decks and now focusing on Chaos Theory, Noise, NBN TWIY and Jinteki PE 🙂

    -KZ

  5. I just want to say, I listened to all of your podcasts in the last few days, as I just found it and i’m relatively new to Netrunner. This latest episode was the best. I really like the 3rd personality, the extra length and the strategy talk. I just wanted to comment so that you know, if you have the time and interest for recording longer more strategically themed episodes you have people who want to listen.

    Keep up the great work.

    Tyler

    • Thank-you Mr. Mayes for the feedback, and the kind words. That’s exactly the kind of thing we need to know to improve the ‘cast. – Dave

  6. Just want you guys to know that I am loving this podcast. Listened to most of the episodes at least 5 times. I check the site everyday to see if episode 16 is out. My first game ever was against an FFG employee at the Plugged In Tour and since then I have played this game like crazy and Creation and Control is the only expansion I have left to buy. The order I bought my expansions was mostly due to things I learned from this podcast.

    I disagree with the guy who wrote in “You don’t need to read the cards.” When I am listening I don’t have all the cards in front of me and I even like when you read the flavor text and point out the references of where the names likely came from. Even if I am familiar with the card I still like to hear you take on it and it is not a big deal if you take 10 more seconds to read the card. I also enjoy when you talk about the art because that is a big reason what attracted me to this game in the first place.

    I love Glen’s rants and one of my favoite moments was the following…

    Dave: You sort your cards alphebetically?
    Glen: Hi I’m Glen. Have we met?

    Keep it up and hope to run your servers some day.

    • Haha! Awesome post Jeremy – thank-you for the kind words and making me laugh out loud! I’m glad you take in ALL aspects of the game – it really is a full package isn’t it?

      When you get C&C you’re going to love it even more – that’s a play-expanding set of cards – and they will keep you busy for quite a while.

      While I’ve known Glen for a long time, he still manages to catch me off guard. – Dave

Leave a Reply

